News‎ > ‎

UTM won Top Prize in Innovate Malaysia 2016

posted Aug 9, 2016, 7:45 PM by cf yeong   [ updated Aug 9, 2016, 9:18 PM ]

Penang, Malaysia, 9 August 2015 – Universiti Teknologi Malaysia’s students have once again made UTM proud in innovation competition by winning the Excellence Award (Overall champion), two First Prize Awards and Startup Pre-Accelerator Award in Innovate Malaysia Design Competition 2016.

Innovate Malaysia Design Competition is a multi-discipline engineering design competition open to all final year undergraduate engineering or computer science students in Malaysia with the goal to promote innovative culture in engineering design work, tackle real-world problems with practical engineering solutions, and churn out brightest talents for product development, further research, and commercialization. This competition is co-orgranized by Altera, Intel, Keysight, MathWorks, Microsoft, CeDEC, Motorola Solutions, National Instruments, SilTerra, ViTrox and Dreamcatcher supported by Ministry of Education, Talent Corp Malaysia, MDEC, IEM, Techsqurce, and Terasic. This year there are about 850 students applied, 550 shortlisted to undergo industrial training program and only 104 shortlisted for final pitching on the Grand Finale.

InnovaBoard team won the Excellence Award and First Prize Award under Microsoft Track. The team won RM5000 and Nokia Lumia 1520. Innovaboard is an innovative wobble balance board integrated with Virtual Reality game where user can train their balancing while playing game. This device can also assess user’s knee and balance performance. This is to enhance user experience in training the balancing using the device especially for knee related patients, stroke patients, athletes and anyone who wishes to improve their balancing. The team members are Muhammad Najib bin Abdullah, Muhammd Nooralif bin Darsim and Muhammad Farhan bin Mustar from Faculty of Mechanical (FKM) and supervised by Dr Yeong Che Fai (FKE) and Khor Kang Xiang. The product has been commercialized and more info can be found here:

Another team won the First Prize Award is ‘FPGA Implementation on Hearing Protection Device (HPD)’ in Altera Track (RM5000 and DE1 SoC Development and Education Board). The team members are Mohammad Faiz Mokhtar Kamal from Faculty of Mechanical (FKM) and Deric Wong Soon Ang from Faculty of Biosciences & Medical Engineering (FBME). The team supervised by Dr. Tang Howe Hing (FKM), Dr. Hau Yuan Wen (FBME), and Dr. Ailin Razali.

‘Advanced Recycling Machine (ARM)’ project won the Startup Pre-Accelerator Award and Consolation Prize under Microsoft Track. The students are Bong Yu Liang, Kelvin Ling Chia Hiik and Ho Chun Yeen from Faculty of Electrical Engineering (FKE) supervised by Assoc. Prof. Dr. Abdul Rashid Bin Husain (FKE).

The teams would like thank to Centre for Student Innovation (CSI), UTM in supporting the teams in joining this competition. For more information about the competition, please log on the following link: